UofL - Department of Physics & Astronomy

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size



The Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Louisville offers graduate and undergraduate degrees in Physics, Astronomy, and Atmospheric Science through the College of Arts and Sciences. The faculty consists of 17 members, all holding the Ph.D. in their field. All are active in a variety of research areas including interdisciplinary work with other departments. Research facilities are housed in the Natural Sciences Building, Shumaker Research Building, the Moore Observatory, and a variety of other external sites. The Department is proud of its active group of more than 30 graduate and over 115 undergraduate students, including its award-winning chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS).





Kudos to Professor Kielkopf

Congratulations to Prof. Kielkopf on his recent Phase II Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) contract funded by the Office of Naval Research (ONR).


Prof. Jian Du-Caines receives NSF CAREER Award

Prof. Jian Du-Caines of the University of Louisville Atmospheric Science Program, Dept. of Physics & Astronomy, has received a prestigious NSF CAREER Grant. Her project is "Physical Causes of Multi-Scale Temporal Variability in Atmospheric Tides from the Troposphere to the Dynamo Region." The grant is worth $500,000 over five years.