Mr. Bhupendra Karki won ACA 2019 Poster Prize

Diptaparna Biswas has been selected for the Ozaki exchange fellowship

UofL physics research explores new forms of phosphorene

UofL Student Makes NASA Dreams Come True!

Brent Mode receives NSF/GRFP Honorable Mention recognition.

UofL student wins the Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Award at the 231st AAS Meeting in Washington

Dr. Mendes highlighted in Insider Louisville

Busy Fall for Department of Physics and Astronomy Members

Dr. Holwerda at WHAS11 Great Day Live!

The KELT Scientific Team announced the discovery of a Jupiter-like exoplanet hotter than most stars

Astronomers of the Kilodegree Extremely Little Telescope (KELT) project announced the discovery of KELT-9b, the hottest gas giant planet known yet.

Society of Physics Students Wins the Outstanding Chapter Award Again

Congratulations to our SPS students for receiving the Outstanding Chapter award for the 19th time in a row! Go Team for many more such recognitions!


Kentucky Universities join the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope Corporation

Eight Kentucky universities joined the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) Corporation on 1 Aug 2016.

2016 Research Award

Congratulations to Dr. Smadici for winning the Victor A. Olorunsola Endowed Research Award for 2016!

TEAL - Technology Enabled Active Learning

With generous donations received from Mr. Samuel L. Lord, the Department of Physics and Astronomy unveiled a Technology-Enabled Active-Learning (TEAL) classroom on January 6, 2016,