SPS wins Blake Lilly Prize

Our SPS Chapter has won the Blake Lilly Prize awarded by the Society of Physics Students.

The Blake Lily Prize recognizes the work SPS chapters and individuals do to positively influence the attitudes of school children and the general public towards physics. Our chapter has been recognized for its outreach activities this spring, including our its involvement in the Speed School's Engineering Expo and the volunteer work of several members as mentors and judges of high school science fair projects. The award includes a certificate and the three-volume set Feynman Lectures on Physics.


The image below shows our current SPS members with its Faculty advisers Dr. Lauroesch and Dr. Williger.
Back (from left to right): Matthew Nichols, John Self, Albert Bolander, Michael Snyder, Sarah Pagan, David Warder, Austin Gornet, Jake Colston, Shelby Brackett, Richard Judge, Jason Thieman, Jared Keown, Stacie Curran, Spencer Jones, Trevor Brown, Tyler Satterly, Dr. Gerard Williger, Zach Johnson.
Front (from left to right): Brian Leist, Dr. James Lauroesch, Jeremy Hornbeck, Jamie Bougher, Andrew McCollam.


image of group of UofL SPS students